//
you're reading...
Film Base

Film Base – The Classic High School Movie

Note the word CLASSIC. This list of film will not include the likes of High School Musical or Twilight…equally it will not venture into the Harry Potter franchise. This list houses films that have that certain teen angst about them, from the old to the new, it follows teenagers as they discover who they are and just what they are and aren’t willing to put up with, as they fall in love despite not realising it and overcome social boundaries in order to follow their dreams. This is a list of classics πŸ™‚

Oh and should you need a soundtrack to read this, here’s my suggestion. Enjoy!:

1. The Breakfast Club

My all time favourite not only for the awesome soundtrack, but for the stereotyping, the overcoming of social prejudices and most of all the fact that the film takes place in detention in a library and yet has some of the most compelling and deeply emotional scenes of any of these teen flicks. If you haven’t seen this – it’s a must.

2. Rebel Without a Cause

Now this is going back a way, but really it is in essence a film that tells us where teenagers really came from. For anyone with a passion for teen films, Rebel without a cause is definitely a good starting point and sets out many of the genre’s classic themes from the start.

3. Clueless

Best 90’s teen film I know of. It’s funny, it’s stupid and like, duh! It’s awesome.

4. Grease

Yeah I know it’s a musical but this list wouldn’t be complete without this classic. Plus the songs are just so catchy πŸ™‚

5. Footloose

I really love Kevin Bacon in this film. Every time I watch this his character reveals a little bit more to me. It says a lot about the time it was made in but also harks back to earlier times when teenagers where on the brink of becoming the rebellious beings that they are now known as.

6.Β  Pretty in Pink

This one and the next were hard to choose between for me. Between my love for 80’s teen movies and my love for Ally Sheedy this was a bit of a toss-up. But Pretty in Pink won through because of the classic school dance scenario, the contrast that is so much a part of the 80’s teen movie between the rich and the poor and mainly the romance between the two main characters. Although I’ve gotta say I do think that Ducky is probably one of the most original character’s I’ve ever seen and you gotta love him.

7. Sixteen Candles

Anyone’s worst nightmare at the age of 16 – everyone forgets your birthday. But not to fear, as any good teen movie buff knows, things will turn out all right in the end. A very sweet story.

8. Some Kind of Wonderful

A bit darker than the rest I find; more gritty and has more of a truth to it that the comic escapades of some of these movies, but it’s still heartwarming-ly romantic and the case of mistaken love is just so bitter-sweet.

9. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

Hasn’t everyone always wanted to be like this? At some point you’ve just gotta stop thinking and do. I love this film, for the simple reason that for once the teen’s actually seem to get away with it. They have the most epic day out, and yet the consequences which are normally so reinforced and inherent in many teen films, are less so here. It gives all youths a little hope πŸ˜‰

10. Napoleon Dynamite

This list wouldn’t be complete with this film. Despite being relatively new, this film has become a classic in my eyes, purely because it’s so ridiculously funny all the while staying true to the genre.

And that’s it. My top Ten. You’ll probably notice I have a definite soft spot for the 80’s teen film, mainly with the Brat pack included and a definite like of anything John Hughes happened to be directing. But overall I think what makes these films the best of them all is that real sense of what it means to be a teenager. The doubts, the curiosity, the discovery and the pain, all boiling down to what at the time can seem like the worst thing ever, but which when you look back on it can be some of the best days of your life πŸ™‚

Signing off, Siany

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Film Base – The Classic High School Movie

  1. In the context of the list you’ve made, I’m not sure ‘Rebel without a cause’ or ‘Napoleon Dynamite’ should really be there.

    There are two films you have forgotten (and I do hope it was an oversight on your part). The first is, ‘Say Anything’ and the second is, ‘Ferris Bueller’s Day Off’.

    Posted by Chadmango | April 19, 2011, 00:09
  2. Well Chadmango,

    I could possibley see why you’d think that about Rebel With a Cause – coz I really only felt I should include it because of the history behind it. But as for Napoleon Dynamite that is a must. I probably didn’t quite make myself clear enough when I wrote the post what it was I was looking for – but then it was done a bit hurriedly. As for your suggestions – I will check out Say Anything as I haven’t even heard of this before. And um….Ferris Bueller is number 9…you might wana get your eyes checked πŸ˜› Siany x

    Posted by Two Scones and a Milkshake | April 19, 2011, 15:25
  3. oops, didn’t see number nine there. You should also check out ‘Fast Times at Ridgemont High’

    Posted by Chadmango | April 20, 2011, 07:26

Leave a Reply

