//
you're reading...
Point and Click this B*tches

Point and Click this B*tches: Amiga Amazing – No.4

Today’s Amiga Amazing game is particularly special to me for three specific reasons:

1). It is based on a children’s tv programme I used to watch regularly and love.

2). It’s got a badass theme tune.

3). Levar Burton voices one of the character in the tv programme. (LEVAR BURTON!!!!!! ^__^ Geordie <3)

Now I’ve got a few clues for you in case you have no idea what I’m talking about. Firstly here’s a section of the opening credits of the tv programme (voiced partly by Levar Burton!)

Our world is in peril,

Gaia, the spirit of the earth,

Can no longer stand the terrible destruction plaguing our planet,

She sends five magic rings to five special young people,

Kwame, from Africa with the power of Earth,

From North America, Wheeler, with the power of Fire,

From the Soviet Union, Linka, with the power of Wind,

From Asia, Gi, with the power of Water,

And from South America, Ma Ti, with the power of heart,

When the five powers combine, they summon Earth’s greatest champion…

Have you guessed it yet, that’s right folks, CAPTAIN PLANET

This guy is awesome.

And from that awesome tv show, we got a pretty good Amiga game – Captain Planet and the Planeteers 🙂 And just in case you didn’t see the original show – here’s a glimpse of what it was all about – Gooo Planet!

So anyway I had a sort of love/hate relationship with this game. Love – because it was actually really fun to play. Hate – because no matter what we could not seem to get past the blinking HEART level.

You see those vines – they were annoying, you had to try to get them to go up further and avoid all the nasty purple slime. I just remember always dying on this level and it was SO frustrating. You are supposed to save the elephants – I never actually even got to the elephants, that’s how hard it was. With the silly hearts he has that make the plants grow, but you have to hit them from exactly the right distance, and the weird creatures that fall from the sky and try to kill you. Watch this video below if you want to see what I mean:

However, the other levels were really quite fun and the music wasn’t bad either. It was just that one level I kinda avoided most of the time 😛 I mean the rest of them had pretty good powers, but what kinda power is heart? I always thought it was a bit lame. Not your badass Heroes type power lol. I think my favourite level was the very first one (see below):

This is Wheeler with the power of Earth

Just because it seemed easier than the rest. I think a lot of the time, I would have a go at this level but then hand over to my brother or sister for the other levels and just watch. It kind of reminds me of Mario now looking back, with the boxes and bits you jump on, but at the time I didn’t even know what Mario was so I never saw it.

I do think it was actually a very good game morally, teaching kids about pollution and tackling it to save the earth. If only we had more moral stories told to our kids nowadays instead of ‘goo goo ga ga’ type programmes we might see a difference, especially as children do watch so much television now. But that’s a whole other topic! Hope you enjoyed seeing something of this crazy Captain Planet game anyway. I’ll hopefully blog again tomorrow – there’s plenty more to come, I just keep thinking of so many others that I used to play that I can’t really stop now. Haha!

Signing off, Siany

Discussion

One thought on “Point and Click this B*tches: Amiga Amazing – No.4

  1. Didn’t know that about Levar.. Cool! I like that game too.

    Posted by Chris Davis | September 21, 2011, 09:35

Leave a Reply

