//
you're reading...
Point and Click this B*tches

Point and Click this B*tches: Amiga Amazing – Part Five

Yep, I’m still going on the Amiga theme. I promise I will blog about something else this week – both film and music related posts are being formulated in my head currently but they aren’t ready yet. As for today, I’ve got one of the lesser known and played games out there for you. So sit back and enjoy!

This particular game was released in 1991, after much success with the children’s tv show it was based on ( yep I know another children’s tv show, so sue me). This one however features an overly scared dog and his friends trying to solve mysteries and stop the bad guys. If you haven’t guessed it by now it’s Scooby Doo.

Let me at em! Let me at em!

In this particular game made for the Amiga, Scooby is accompanied by his nephew Scrappy Doo aswell. In fact Scrappy Doo is the main character you control. This was another one of those games that was just too ridiculously hard for little old me (I was probably about 7 or 8 at the time of playing this), but still I only remember one level where you actually play as Scooby not Scrappy. And if I recall it correctly it involved swinging from tree’s, which I was REALLY bad at. I think I used to let my sister play this game most of the time and I would just watch because I knew it was really hard. I probably annoyed the heck out of her, sitting behind her muttering ”’oo, quick! No don’t go down there, ah watch out!’ under my breath. But I look back on those times fondly πŸ˜›

Here’s the first level of the game, just for you to get a feel of what it was like:

It’s your typical side-scroller, with all the rats and different enemies you have to avoid, general things that fall on you (like drips?) and the need for a lot of jumping and accurate timing of punches. Good job Scrappy Doo has a large red boxing glove on eh? I don’t think we ever got to the end of this game, and actually it’s one of the few games that I don’t remember there being a point to – if anyone has any idea what the storyline to this was please feel free to comment. I just have no memory of it at all – although I do remember the map screen in the video above, so obviously we were heading to some big enemy’s lair of doom. I also definitely remember this happening:

Argh!

A lot! Those bits with the water were really hard. Actually all things considered I have no idea why I loved this game so much, I mean the soundtrack was extremely repetitive and annoying (even for the Amiga):

The gameplay was hard, the storyline was a bit flimsy (I can’t remember it!?!) and as far as I can tell from my research, very few people made it to the end. But seriously, I did love this game and I would play it now if I could. Well maybe I’d watch someone else play it. I still think my joystick bashing skills wouldn’t cut it here πŸ˜› Hope you enjoyed another glimpse into the wonders of my gaming past.

Signing off, Siany

Discussion

One thought on “Point and Click this B*tches: Amiga Amazing – Part Five

  1. Nice review. Are there more reviews in the making?

    We want more Amiga stuff! πŸ™‚

    Would love to see a review of the old game “Bobo”. I remember it as quite fun.

    Posted by Oldschoolgameblog | May 31, 2011, 20:10

Leave a Reply

