//
you're reading...
Jukebox

Jukebox: Best of 2011

A Great Year For New Music.

It’s a little late in coming but I’ve had this list queued up in Spotify for quite a few weeks and it is about time I got around to actually sharing it with you all. The list compiles all of my absolute favourite tracks from the last year. Rather than putting them in some sort of order that means something to me or that makes more sense style-wise I decided to put them in the order they came out – by month (it might not be entirely accurate so don’t expect it to be).

Best of 2011 (Spotify)

  1. Capital Cities – Safe and Sound
  2. The Civil Wars – Barton Hollow
  3. Oh Land – Wolf & I
  4. The Wombats – Anti-D
  5. Daughter – Landfill
  6. The Antlers – I Don’t Want Love
  7. Fleet Foxes – Helplessness Blues
  8. Alex Winston – Sister Wife
  9. Atlas Genius – Trojans
  10. Hooray For Earth – True Loves
  11. Bon Iver – Calgary
  12. Bombay Bicycle Club – Shuffle
  13. Little Dragon – Shuffle A Dream
  14. Gotye, Kimbra – Somebody That I Used To Know
  15. Benjamin Francis Leftwich – Pictures
  16. The Drums – Money
  17. Florence and The Machine – Only If For A Night

How Did I Choose?

I do have an eclectic taste in music but I’m not claiming to have put together a list with a little bit of everything. This collection is about my all time favourite songs from 2011. Some of these songs are going in my all-time favourite list, period. 2011 was a really great year for new music and as my tastes changed over the year this list reflects that. When it comes to music and songs that I like, I have two different styles of listening. I have the albums that grow on me gradually that I have to learn my way around and get a real feel for before I become a fan. Then I have the songs and even albums that I listen to for the first time and fall in love with. It’s instant, it’s beautiful and it’s usually ever-lasting. These are those songs for me. Each and every one is a song that I loved from the very beginning, within seconds humming along to an addictive tune, or left speechless by the beauty of the melody.

My Perfect Playlist

The list features not only people I only discovered last year but other artists that I had already fallen in love with. The Wombats for instance I have grown to love over the past few years, gradually liking their music more and more. Their release last year of Anti-D however, tipped me over the edge and I couldn’t get enough of their latest album, being lucky enough to get tickets to see them in Bristol at Colston Hall in November. The Fleet Foxes are also on the list having been one of my very favourite bands in the world for 3 or 4 years now. Their melodies are just hauntingly beautiful and with the right acoustics can just render me speechless for hours at a time. They are another band that I made the effort of seeing last year, even more luckily, at the Eden Project in Cornwall (in my opinion one of the best venues for gigs in the whole of the UK). They were immense and I thank Gaia daily that I was able to hear them live.

Speechless.

There are of course brand new tracks and artists on my list (although some of you might be lucky enough to have known them for longer than me). I discovered the amazingly talented Daughter and her song Landfill which just echoes in my head and truly makes me feel the pain in the lyrics. Aubrey Sabala’s amazing monthly playlists introduced me to The Antlers (amongst many others) who Aubs raved on about and who I ended up seeing at the Thekla in Bristol at the end of the year. They were just as good live as she had said they would be so thankyou Aubs. Or there is Oh land of whom I’ve just booked tickets to see in London this month (hooray!) as I not only had Wolf & I on repeat for well over a month but I was equally impressed with the whole album. The unique sound that Gotye brings to world is also on the list, specifically Somebody That I Used to Know, which I had on repeat for most of the end of the summer, but of which I know people are still discovering and enjoying now. His voice reminds me a little of Sting and he works perfectly with Kimbra who is equally as talented. But best of all Gotye have been around for quite a while, and his previous work is equally as compelling and unique.

Overall this playlist for me is the whole year summed up into one, and even more than that it reflects all the changes that happened to me and because of me in the last year. It reflects how I feel I’ve changed as an individual. I hope you enjoy listening and find someone new for your own playlists. Just don’t forget to support the artists you love, show them how much you appreciate their work and artistry. Go to gigs, buy the merch, buy an album, share the music and then others can do the same 🙂

Signing off,

Siany

Discussion

One thought on “Jukebox: Best of 2011

  1. Awesome playlist 🙂

    Posted by Tizz (@Tizz_) | January 30, 2012, 14:17

Leave a Reply

